Monthly Archives: February 2014

Asteroid 2000 EM26 – Live Broadcast

It’s February already and time for another Near Earth Asteroid flyby. We had asteroid 2012 DA14 fly by last year between the earth and the moon’s orbit. In an odd coincidence, fragments from another, unrelated meter hit the Earth on the same day, and its air-burst shockwave caused property damage in Chelyabinsk, Russia. See a previous post for more details: Meteor Explodes over the Ural Mountains in Russia.

This year’s February Flyby, designated 2000 EM26, is six times longer than last year’s, but it will give us more breathing room. It will only get as close as 8.8 times the distance from the earth to the moon.

Space.com will cover Asteroid 2000 EM26 will fly live at 9pm EST. The link is here.

space-com

Slooh will also have a webcast starting at 9 p.m. EST (0200 Feb. 18 GMT): Slooh website.

This Year Last Year
Designation: 2000 EM26 2012 DA14
When: closest to Earth on Feb. 17, 2014 (starting at 6 pm PST / 9 pm EST / 02:00 UTC 2/18) closest to Earth on Feb. 15, 2013
Size: about three football fields (885 feet or 270 meters) long about half a football field (98 feet or 30 meters) long
Speed: traveling at approximately 27,000 mph (12.37 km/s) traveling at approximately 32,000 mph (14.48 km/s) a speed equal to twice the width of a full moon every minute
Where:  8.8 lunar distances
  • 17,200 miles above our planet’s surface
  • through low earth orbit
  • closer than man-made satellites that power GPS
  • where the International Space Station and many earth observation satellites are located

 

A Taste of Earth - Cover

What would happen if 2012DA14 were not an asteroid, but a probe from another solar system? Of course, it isn’t, but this possibility is explored in my science fiction short story, A Taste of Earth (available free on Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and others).

dr_who

rock_vs_paper