Send me Your Bood Moon Selfie


 

Blood MoonYou may have seen the blood moon (lunar eclipse) last night. If you did and took a selfie with it, please send it to me at JustinTyme4BloodMoon@gmail.com, and I’ll post it here. By sending it to me, of course, you relinquish rights to it, but I’m only going to post it here. Tell me if you want to include your name with the selfie or not. If you don’t tell me, then I won’t post your name. You don’t even need to be in the photo — technically not a selfie.

At 12:53 EST this morning, the Earth slid between the sun and the moon for the first of a series of four total eclipses to conclude in September 2015. Yeah, this was the first, baby!

The moon actually turned red because the sun’s light had to pass through our atmosphere at an angle just like it does during a sunset or sunrise. So it’s like the moon was in our sunset. Technically, the phenomenon is known as a tetrad, in which the moon is completely covered by the earth’s umbral shadow for four eclipses in a row, as opposed to only partial eclipses that fall in the outer penumbra. Next one that we can see in North America comes on October 8th. For more info see NASA’s Eclipse Website.

It was too cloudy for me to see here in northeast Ohio, so do me a favor.

Send me your Blood Moon Selfies!


From Anonymous
From Anonymous
Zejtun over Malta
Zejtun over Malta
By Ann Ona Mouse
By Ann Ona Mouse
Goddess of Liberty statue atop the Capitol in Austin, Texas
Goddess of Liberty statue atop the Capitol in Austin, Texas
Credit: AstroVal1, New York City.
Credit: AstroVal1, New York City.
West Cost
West Cost

A Taste of Earth - Cover

Is someone else out there?  A Taste of Earth (available free on Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and others).

 

2 thoughts on “Send me Your Bood Moon Selfie

  1. Sorry you didn’t get to see it. I stood on the porch for a half hour oogling it, but didn’t try to take a selfie. Pictures of the moon with my camera never seem to do it justice.

Leave a Reply

